Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

George Duke to Premiere New Work Written for Christian McBride

Free concert set for Sept. 24 at UCLA, will also feature Symphonic Jazz Orchestra

George Duke’s Concerto for Christian McBride will premiere at a free UCLA

concert that will feature the 67-member Symphonic Jazz Orchestra, conducted by Mitch Glickman. The event is scheduled for Saturday, September 24, 2010, 2:00 p.m. at UCLA’s Royce Hall. McBride will appear as bass soloist in the new commissioned work composed by composer/keyboardist/producer Duke. The concert will also feature works commissioned by composers Charles Floyd, and SJO conductor Mitch Glickman.

In a press release, Duke explained, “This is without a doubt the most comprehensive symphonic jazz composition I’ve written. It is written for the full breadth of Christian’s talents including upright, fretless and electric basses. My central idea is to allow Christian the freedom to spontaneously create and at the same time have a cohesive composition with the orchestra. The piece includes a standard jazz rhythm section along with a full orchestra. The challenge was to have complete interplay between the orchestra and the jazz trio and allow the bass to speak throughout its range as the dominant soloist and melodic proponent.”

For ticket information, visit SJO Music or call 310-876-8130.

Originally Published