Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Gary Bartz to Receive BNY Mellon Jazz 2015 Living Legacy Award

Saxophonist to be honored in October ceremony

Gary Bartz
Gary Bartz

Saxophonist and educator Gary Bartz will receive the BNY Mellon Jazz 2015 Living Legacy Award in a ceremony at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C., on October 16. The award, a program of Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, sponsored by BNY Mellon, honors living jazz masters from the mid-Atlantic region who have achieved distinction in jazz performance and education.

The 2015 event will include a gala reception in the Kennedy Center Atrium, the award ceremony, and a performance featuring the BNY Mellon Jazz 2014 Living Legacy awardee Joanne Brackeen in the Kennedy Center Jazz Club.

Previous BNY Mellon Living Legacy Award winners include Brackeen, Nathan Davis, Muhal Richard Abrams, Phil Woods, Roy Haynes, Dr. Frank Foster, Kenny Barron, Benny Golson, Oliver Lake, Rufus Reid, Randy Weston, Keter Betts, Jimmy Heath, Joe Kennedy, Jr., Shirley Scott, Reggie Workman, Dr. Donald Byrd, Larry Ridley, Barry Harris, Robert “Boysie” Lowery and Clark Terry. A Millennium Award was conferred on Dr. Billy Taylor in 2000.

For more information, visit Living Legacy.

Originally Published