Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Esperanza Spalding to Release ‘Radio Music Society’

Companion release to the bassist/composer/vocalist’s ‘Chamber Music Society’ is accompanied by 12 music videos

Esperanza Spalding

On March 20, Heads Up International will release Esperanza Spalding’s new album, Radio Music Society. Each of the 12 album’s songs is accompanied by conceptual music videos. Shot in various locations including New York City, Barcelona and Portland, Ore., all videos will be available to purchasers of Radio Music Society Radio Music Society is being called a companion, rather than a sequel, to Spalding’s previous disc, Chamber Music Society, which reached No. 1 on the Billboard Contemporary Jazz Chart.

In addition to longtime partners saxophonist Joe Lovano, keyboard player Leo Genovese and drummer Terri Lyne Carrington, the album features jazz drumming legends Jack DeJohnette and Billy Hart; guitar heroes Jef Lee Johnson and Lionel Loueke; an array of vocalists including Algebra Blessett, Lalah Hathaway, Gretchen Parlato, Leni Stern and Becca Stevens; hip-hop artist Q-Tip (who performs on and co-produced two tracks); and two Portland-based musicians, Janice Scroggins and Dr. Thara Memory, who provided essential mentorship in Spalding’s youth.

Four tracks feature the horn section of the American Music Program, a youth big band of musicians age 12 to 18 directed by Spalding’s longtime mentor and teacher Dr. Memory, who conducts and provides horn arrangements.

Originally Published