Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Esperanza Spalding Casts First of “12 Little Spells” Online

Her new suite, debuting one piece at a time over 12 days, was written with parts of the body in mind

Esperanza Spalding
Esperanza Spalding (photo: Marek Lazarski)

The singer and bassist Esperanza Spalding yesterday (Oct. 7) released the first installment of her new musical suite, 12 Little Spells, which she is unveiling to the public online via her website and Facebook and Instagram accounts. Spalding is putting out the project piece by piece—or spell by spell, in her parlance—every day at 12:12 p.m. Eastern time, until October 18, at which point the music will be available for pre-order.

12 Little Spells is, according to a press release, an investigation of art’s restorative energy; each track was written with a part of the body in mind. Spalding recorded the music about two weeks ago in Brooklyn, with Matthew Stevens on guitar, Justin Tyson on drums, Aaron Burnett on saxophone, Burniss Travis on bass, Corey King on background vocals, and Rob Schwimmer on continuum.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published