Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

JALC’s Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame: Voting Open Now

This year's nominees include Hendricks, Cole, Hubbard, Simone, more

Jazz at Lincoln Center marquee

Four lauded vocalists—including the recently departed Jon Hendricks—join six legendary instrumentalists on the list of 2018 nominees for Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame (EJHF). In addition to Hendricks, the nominees are Jimmy Blanton, Nat Cole, Roy Haynes, Freddie Hubbard, Nina Simone, Cecil Taylor, Frankie Trumbauer, Dinah Washington and Teddy Wilson.

The public can now vote online for their three favorite artists of the 10 listed above; the deadline for voting is April 28 at 11:59 p.m. EDT. The top three nominees, as determined by the popular vote, will be inducted into the 2018 class.

Jazz at Lincoln Center will announce this year’s Hall of Fame class on April 29. The winners will be celebrated July 17-19 with curated sets at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola, which will be webcast live at

The 2018 EJHF nominees were selected by a JALC-appointed panel comprising Bill Charlap, Aaron Diehl, Jon Faddis, Will Friedwald, Ethan Iverson, Jerome Jennings, Renee Rosnes, Ellen Rowe, Catherine Russell, Bobby Sanabria, Helen Sung, Phil Schaap, Loren Schoenberg, Bria Skonberg, Terell Stafford and Ben Young.

Read the JT obituary for Jon Hendricks.

Originally Published