Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

ECM Celebrates Keith Jarrett’s 75th Birthday with New Music

A previously unreleased live recording of "Answer Me, My Love" from 2016 is streaming now

Keith Jarrett
Keith Jarrett (photo: Woong Chul An)

Today (May 8) is Keith Jarrett’s 75th birthday, and his longtime label ECM Records is celebrating with the release of a previously unheard concert recording. It’s a solo version of “Answer Me, My Love” (a frequent live favorite of the pianist in recent years) captured in Budapest in July 2016—an advance sampling, so we’re told, of an album to be released in the fall. At the moment, you can find it at the top of this streaming playlist or on YouTube.

This isn’t the only Jarrett music to be released today in celebration of his reaching the three-quarter century mark. Manfred Eicher, the founder of ECM, has assembled a new compilation of favorite Jarrett recordings called simply Keith Jarrett 75, which as of May 8 is available exclusively as a download from the hi-res music service Qobuz. The track listing for the compilation is as follows:

1. “Never Let Me Go” (with the “Standards Trio” of Gary Peacock and Jack DeJohnette, from 1983’s Standards, Vol. 2)
2. “Creation, Pt. VII” (live solo in Rome 2014, from 2015’s Creation)
3. “Personal Mountains” (live in Tokyo 1979 with the “European Quartet” of Jan Garbarek, Palle Danielsson, and Jon Christensen, from 1989’s Personal Mountains)
4. “No Moon at All” (duo with Charlie Haden, from 2010’s Jasmine)
5. “Flying, Part 1” (same lineup as track 1, from 1984’s Changes)

You can download Keith Jarrett 75 here.