Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

ECM Announces 7 New Reissues

Classic titles from Jarrett, Burton, Sam Rivers & more

Sam Rivers

ECM has announced the March 4 reissue of seven historical albums, featuring such artists as Keith Jarrett, Sam Rivers, Gary Burton and others. Each release is mastered from original analog sources, and will be issued simultaneously in three media formats: 180-gram vinyl albums, CDs and high-resolution download files.

The titles are:

Gary Burton
Seven Songs for Quartet and Chamber Orchestra (ECM 1040) (released in 1973)

Gary Burton Quartet

Gary Burton vibraharp

Mick Goodrick guitar

Steve Swallow bass

Ted Seibs drums

And members of the Hamburg NDR-Symphony Orchestra

Conducted by Michael Gibbs

Keith Jarrett
Arbour Zena (ECM 1070) (released in 1975)

Keith Jarrett piano

Jan Garbarek tenor and soprano saxophone

Charlie Haden double bass

String Orchestra (Members of the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra)

Mladen Gutesha conductor

Keith Jarrett
Ritual (ECM 1112) (released in 1977)

Dennis Russell Davies piano

Ralph Towner/John Abercrombie
Five Years Later (ECM 1207) (released in 1982)

John Abercrombie acoustic and electric guitars, electric 12-string guitar, mandolin guitar

Ralph Towner 12-string and classical guitars

Sam Rivers
Contrasts (ECM 1162) (released in 1979)

Sam Rivers soprano and tenor saxophone, flute

George Lewis trombone

Dave Holland double bass

Thurman Barker drums, marimba

Miroslav Vitouš Group (ECM 1185) (released in 1980)

Miroslav Vitouš double bass

John Surman soprano and baritone saxophones, bass clarinet

Kenny Kirkland piano

Jon Christensen drums

Abdullah Ibrahim
African Piano (ECM/JAPO 60002) (released in 1969)

Abdullah Ibrahim piano

Originally Published