Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Earl Klugh to Release Covers Album July 30

Guitarist will perform standards and pop tunes

Earl Klugh
Earl Klugh, Standard Bank Joy of Jazz Festival, Johannesburg 2012

Guitarist Earl Klugh will release his debut album for Heads Up/Concord, Hand Picked, on July 30. The self-produced solo album features special guests Bill Frisell, Vince Gill and Jake Shimabukuro. On the recording Klugh interprets standards and pop hits ranging from such as “Lullaby of Birdland” to “Cast Your Fate to the Wind,” “‘Round Midnight,” the Beatles’ “If I Fell” and the Eagles’ “Hotel California.”

Klugh will perform selected dates through November, including a run at New York’s Blue Note, Seattle’s Jazz Alley and the Smooth Jazz Cruise.

Track Listing

1. Alfie

2. Lullaby Of Birdland

3. Blue Moon – duet with Bill Frisell

4. In Six

5. Cast Your Fate To The Wind

6. Hotel California – duet with Jake Shimabukuro

7. More And More Amor

8. ‘Round Midnight

9. But Beautiful

10. All I Have To Do Is Dream – duet with Vince Gill

11. Going Out Of My Head

12. If I Fell

13. Where The Wind Takes Me

14. Morning Rain

15. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing

16. This Time

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published