Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Drummer Otis Brown III to Release Debut Leader Album

Derrick Hodge produced; album includes Robert Glasper and others

Otis Brown III

Drummer Otis Brown III, who has served as sideman for Esperanza Spalding, Joe Lovano, Terence Blanchard, Oliver Lake, Somi and others, has announced the release of his debut album as a leader, The Thought of You. The album is due Aug. 26 from Revive/Blue Note, a new partnership between Revive Music and Blue Note Records.

Brown’s band on the recording includes pianist Robert Glasper, trumpeter Keyon Harrold, saxophonist John Ellis and bassist Ben Williams, with organist Shedrick Mitchell and guitarist Nir Felder making special appearances. Singers Bilal, Gretchen Parlato and Nikki Ross are also featured. Derrick Hodge co-produced the recording.

Track Listing

1. The Way (Truth & Life)

2. The Thought of You – Part I featuring Bilal

3. Interlude I – Truth

4. Stages of Thought

5. The Two Become One (For Paula)

6. You’re Still The One featuring Gretchen Parlato

7. The Thought of You – Part II

8. I Love You Lord/We Exalt Thee/In The Beginning featuring Nikki Ross

9. The Thought of You – Part III

10. I Am Your Song featuring Nikki Ross

11. Interlude II – Life

Originally Published