Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Dr. Lonnie Smith to Release New Octet Album

Recorded live, session features reimagined early recordings

Dr. Lonnie Smith, Queens, NY 3-12
Dr. Lonnie Smith
Dr. Lonnie Smith (photo: Jacob Blickenstaff

Hammond B3 organ great Dr. Lonnie Smith, who begins a four-night run at New York’s Jazz Standard tonight, will release a new album, In the Beginning Volumes 1 & 2, October 15 on Pilgrimage Recordings. For the release, which was recorded in front of a live audience at a converted Model T factory in Queens, N.Y., Smith reimagines a dozen songs from his first decade as a recording artist, arranged for an octet by co-producer and saxophonist Ian Hendrickson-Smith (Dap-Kings).

The octet features Ed Cherry (guitar), Jonathan Blake (drums), Little Johnny Rivero (congas), Andy Gravish (trumpet), Ian Hendrickson-Smith (alto sax and flute), John Ellis (tenor and bass clarinet) and Jason Marshall (baritone sax).

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published