Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Curtis Stigers to Release Album of Pop, Soul, Folk Covers

‘Let’s Go Out Tonight’ includes songs by Bob Dylan, Neil Finn, Eddie Floyd, Jeff Tweedy and more

Curtis Stigers

Singer/saxophonist Curtis Stigers will release Let’s Go Out Tonight, his seventh album on Concord Music Group,in April 24. A departure from Stigers’ previous projects, Let’s Go Out Tonight sidesteps the Great American Songbook completely. Rather, it includes a cross-section of pop, folk, country and soul songs from songwriters ranging from Bob Dylan, Eddie Floyd and Richard Thompson to Jeff Tweedy, Hayes Carll and David Poe, whose “Everyone Loves Lovers” was crafted expressly for Stigers.

Stigers describes the new project as “probably the most autobiographical album I’ve ever made. It hits so many places I’ve been and things I’ve gone through and am currently going through.” Ironically, given its deeply personal nature, Let’s Go Out Tonight is the first album since 2003’s You Inspire Me that includes no original Stigers songs. The album was produced by Larry Klein.

Track list

1. Things Have Changed (4:59)

2. Everyone Loves Lovers (4:03)

3. Oh, How It Rained (3:53)

4. Goodbye (4:44)

5. Into Temptation (4:54)

6. This Bitter Earth (3:24)

7. Waltzing’s For Dreamers (4:24)

8. Chances Are (4:40)

9. You Are Not Alone (4:58)

10. Let’s Go Out Tonight (5:11)

Originally Published