Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Concord to Reissue Bill Evans’ Vanguard Recordings in Vinyl Box Set

1961 sessions feature Scott LaFaro and Paul Motian

Producer Orrin Keepnews, Scott LaFaro, Bill Evans and Paul Motian (from left) make jazz history at the Village Vanguard in 1961
Bill Evans

Concord Music Group is reissuing Bill Evans’ The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961, as a vinyl box set. Pressed on 180-gram vinyl, the four LPs are packaged with a 12-page booklet, complete with new liner notes by reissue producer Bill Belmont, as well as the original liner notes by the producer of the initial recordings, Orrin Keepnews. The set also includes reproductions of Keepnews’ session annotations and photographer Steve Schapiro’s proof sheets from the performances. As a bonus, according to a press release, a metallic and black poster of the album cover-Evans, in profile, deep in concentration at his piano-completes the box set.

The original recording was made June 25, 1961, at the New York venue and features pianist Evans with bassist Scott LaFaro and drummer Paul Motian.

Concord also plans a 12-disc reissue of The Complete Riverside Recordings for early 2015. That set presents all 20 recording sessions from the eight-year period (1956-63) that launched Evans’ career. These 151 performances are presented in what’s described as “a sleek brick box,” along with a 32-page illustrated booklet. Due in January is the four-LP set The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings, which encompasses the duets Bennett and Evans recorded in 1975 and 1976. New liner notes by music critic and co-author of Bennett’s autobiography, Will Friedwald, complete the package.

Track Listing for The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961


Disc 1

Side A:

1. Spoken Introduction 00:43

2. Gloria’s Step (Take 1, Interrupted) 5:41

3. Alice In Wonderland (Take 1) 6:57

Side B:

1. My Foolish Heart 4:55

2. All Of You (Take 1) 8:14

3. Announcement And Intermission 1:44

Disc 2

Side A:

1. My Romance (Take 1) 7:11

2. Some Other Time 5:02


3. Solar 8:57

Side B:

1. Gloria’s Step (Take 2) 6:10

2. My Man’s Gone Now 6:21

3. All Of You (Take 2) 8:29

Disc 3

Side A:

1. Detour Ahead (Take 1) 7:17

2. Discussing Repertoire 00:31

3. Waltz For Debby (Take 1) 6:46

4. Alice In Wonderland (Take 2) 8:31

Side B:

1. Porgy (I Loves You, Porgy) 6:09


2. My Romance (Take 2) 7:26

3. Milestones 6:31

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music’s best journalists and critics.


Originally Published