Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Blue Note to Release Previously Unissued Monk 1969 Paris Concert

Show also features guest appearance by drummer Philly Joe Jones

Thelonious Monk
Thelonious Monk

Blue Note Records has announced a Nov. 26 release date for Thelonious Monk Paris 1969, which documents the pianist and composer in performance with his Quartet at the Salle Pleyel concert hall in Paris, France on Dec. 15, 1969. Monk is accompanied by two young musicians-bassist Nate Hygelund and drummer Paris Wright-plus his longtime tenor saxophonist Charlie Rouse. The black and white film also features a surprise guest appearance from drummer Philly Joe Jones. Also included is an on-camera interview with Monk conducted by the French bassist Jacques Hess after the concert.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published