Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Aretha Franklin Awarded Posthumous Pulitzer Citation

She joins John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk, and a handful of other musicians in receiving the honor

Aretha Franklin

The ovation hasn’t stopped for Aretha Franklin, who was just posthumously awarded a Pulitzer Prize.

To be exact, the Queen of Soul received a Special Citation from the Pulitzer Prize board—which can now be added to 18 Grammy Awards, a Presidential Medal of Freedom, and the distinction of being the first woman inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published