Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

5-DVD ‘Masters of American Music’ Set Due

Includes Bird, Monk, Billie, Sarah and ‘The Story of Jazz’

A five DVD set gathering programs from the Masters of American Music series of jazz documentaries will be released by Naxos USA and EuroArts on October 25. The first four discs focus on the individual performers Charlie Parker, Billie Holiday, Thelonious Monk and Sarah Vaughan, while the fifth is called “The Story of Jazz.”

Over 80 interviews were filmed in the making of the series, which also includes rare performances, period footage and vintage photographs. The DVDs were previously released individually during 2009-10. This limited edition “best of” box available at a suggested retail price of $39.99.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published