Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

2017 NEA Jazz Masters Announced

Recipients include four musicians and one advocate

Ira Gitler at home
Dave Holland
Pianist Dick Hyman (photo by Ken Franckling)
Dr. Lonnie Smith at the 2010 Telluride Jazz Celebration

The National Endowment for the Arts announced the 2017 NEA Jazz Masters Fellows, recipients of the nation’s highest honor in jazz, earlier this evening during a DC Jazz Festival concert at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.

The five recipients-vocalist/broadcaster Dee Dee Bridgewater; author, editor, producer and educator Ira Gitler (winner of the A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy); bassist, cellist, composer and bandleader Dave Holland; keyboardist, composer and arranger Dick Hyman; and organist-composer Dr. Lonnie Smith-were recognized for their lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the advancement of jazz. Each will receive a $25,000 award and be honored at a tribute concert on Monday, April 3.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published