Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

JT Track Premiere: Eliane Elias’ “Samba de Orly”

New album "Dance of Time" celebrates centennial of first samba recording

Eliane Elias' "Dance of Time"
Eliane Elias' "Dance of Time"
Eliane Elias (photo by Philippe Salomon)

On March 24, Concord Jazz will release Dance of Time, a new album by pianist, singer, composer and arranger Eliane Elias. Accompanied by guest musicians including vocalist Mark Kibble, pianist Amilton Godoy, trumpeter Randy Brecker, vibraphonist Mike Mainieri and guitarist/composers João Bosco and Toquinho, Elias celebrates the 100th anniversary of the first recorded and registered samba composition in an album of originals and covers.

“On this record, I play and sing more sambas than I have ever recorded on an album,” Elias states in a press release. “If you were to slow down the samba, you could get to some very beautiful, heartfelt lyricism. “Most people dance to samba music while caught up in the intoxicating rhythm, but one can also dive deeper into the lyrical, harmonic and melodic aspects of the music as well.”

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published