Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Kevin Eubanks

Kevin Tyrone Eubanks (born November 15, 1957 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) is an American jazz guitarist and composer who was the leader of the Tonight Show Band with host Jay Leno from 1995 to 2010. He also led The Primetime Band on the short-lived The Jay Leno Show.

He composed The Tonight Show with Jay Leno’s closing theme music, “Kevin’s Country,” in 1992.[1]

When NBC moved Leno’s show from late night to primetime (10PM in the Eastern time zone), Eubanks moved with the band to continue conducting the music for the new version of Leno’s show. Eubanks appeared on the new show as the Primetime Band. It was announced on February 16, 2010 that Eubanks would only be returning for a short time as band leader when Jay Leno began his second tenure on The Tonight Show.[2]

On April 12, 2010, Eubanks announced on the show that he would be leaving The Tonight Show following its 18th season.[3] His last show was on Friday, May 28, 2010. Mr. Eubanks indicated in an interview with The Philadelphia Inquirer that he wanted to refocus on the music, and that his leaving the show was not a problem he had with Mr. Leno or NBC.[4]

In September 2010, Mack Avenue Records announced the signing of Eubanks, who will release “Zen Food” on November 23, 2010 – his debut for the label and first project since his Tonight Show departure.