Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Beata Pater

Following up on her highly-acclaimed trilogy Black, Blue and Red, Beata Pater has taken a delightful turn into another sublime direction with Golden Lady. Abandoning the larger ensembles, vocalese excursions and fiery adventurousness of those albums, Beata has turned to a pair of longtime collaborators – pianist Hiromu Aoki and bassist Buca Necak – to create an enthralling gem of an album, filled with emotional intensity and rich lyricism.

With brilliant interplay and powerful empathy that makes the trio sound like a unified, multi-faceted instrument, Beata offers her singular interpretations of eleven outstanding songs culled from some of America and Brazil’s finest composers. From sumptuous ballads to buoyant swing, the album is highly accessible and radio-friendly, yet still bears the innovative freshness and unpredictable inventiveness that are hallmarks of her remarkable musical vision.

With each piece lovingly crafted with the consummate artistry of a master jeweler, honed by superb musicianship and stunning creativity, Golden Lady displays the perfect setting for Beata’s beautiful and sensual voice. Interpreting lyrics in the manner of the immortal jazz horn players, Beata sculpts every nuance of the words’ meaning and impact within a vivid context of storytelling at its most profound. Golden Lady is another triumph for a truly special artist.


1 Wild Is the Wind – Dimitri Tiomkin & Ned Washington

2 The Day It Rained – Durval Ferreira and Pedro Comargo

3 Turned to Blue – J. Ashby & M. Angelou

4 Save Your Love For Me – Buddy Johnson

5 I Don’t Remember Ever Growing Up – Artie Butler

6 I Live to Love You – Oscar Castro-Neves

7 This Is All I Ask – Gordon Jenkins

8 Golden Lady – Stevie Wonder

9 If You Went Away – Marcos Valle

10 Someone to Light Up My Life – Antonio Carlos Jobim

11 A Little Tear – Eumir Deodato