Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Yellowjackets to Release New Album Featuring Mike Stern

For those who dug the earliest Yellowjackets material-the burning stuff with jazz-blues guitar killer Robben Ford-your ship has arrived: On May 20, Heads Up International will release Lifecycle, the new ‘Jackets recording featuring special guest and label-mate Mike Stern (pictured). Alongside the core band of bassist Jimmy Haslip, keyboardist Russell Ferrante, drummer Marcus Baylor and reedist Bob Mintzer, Stern brings his instantly recognizable timbre and technique-a meld of bop phrasing and rock bends glossed with stereo chorus-to 10 tracks of smartly grooving contemporary jazz. Stern also contributes two compositions, “Double Nickel” and “Dream Go,” to the sessions.

Track List:

1. Falken’s Maze

2. Country Living

3. Double Nickel

4. Dreams Go

5. Measure of a Man

6. Yahoo

7. I Wonder

8. 3 Circles

9. Claire’s Closet

10. Lazaro

For more information, visit the band online at

Originally Published