Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Will Dr. Who Make an Appearance?

BBC Radios 2 and 3 have announced that the first annual BBC Jazz Awards will take place on July 31 at the Queen Elizabeth Hall in London. While performances are still being organized, Humphrey Lyttelton and Jools Holland will host the event. Ellington and Basie trumpeter Clark Terry will be honored as the BBC’s International Jazz Artist of the Year. Award presenters include Michael Parkinson, Stacey Kent, Charlie Watts, Alan Plater and Barbara Thompson.

There are 10 award categories, one nominated by listeners and nine nominated by a specially appointed panel comprising 100 of the most influential members of the U.K.’s jazz and media industry. The nominations include:
Best Band: Courtney Pine Band, Julian Arguelles Octet, Dave O’Higgins Biggish Band.
Rising Star: Alex Wilson, Ben Castle, Zoe Rahman.
Best Instrumental: Alan Barnes, Tim Garland, Andy Shepherd.
Best Vocalist: Norma Winstone, Stacey Kent, Ian Shaw.
Best CD: Jean Toussaint & Nazaire Street Above The Underground, Iain Ballamy Pepper Street Interludes, John Surman Coruscating
Services to Jazz: Pete King (Ronnie Scotts); Peter Ind (Wave Records/Bass Clef Club); Bill Ashton (NYJO).

Highlights from the evening will be webcast on and on August 6.

Originally Published