Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Various Artists: Trippin’: The Groove Merchant Compilation

Trippin: The Groove Merchant Compilation (Luv N’ Haight, LHCD 027, 44:46) is another collection of rare groove sauce from the vinyl junkies over at Luv N’ Haight-the name comes from the Bay area record store that eventually spawned the label. As you might expect, the collection is loaded with old-school style soul juice-starting with the deadly drum break that opens Eugene Blacknell & The New Breed’s “Gettin Down,” through Warm Excursion’s smoldering “Funk-I-Tus.” For those looking for offbeat pleasures, there’s The Johnny Frigo Sextet’s cover of Dennis Coffey’s hit “Scorpio.” Or, if you’re really into it, David Baker’s “Le Miroir Noir,” a funk-jazz play-along instructional track that’s funky enough to steam up your windows.

Originally Published