Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Unreleased Ellington Due in August

Storyville Records will release two albums of previously unreleased Duke Ellington Orchestra performances in August. The Jaywalker, recorded from 1966-67, features 23 unissued tracks that were initially composed for a British play of the same name. The Treasury Shows Vol. 10 is the tenth installment in Storyville’s series of live, World War II-era Ellington radio broadcasts-this volume includes performances recorded on May 4, Aug. 11 and 18, and Sept. 26, 1945.

The Jaywalker was recorded in studios in New York and Los Angeles at Ellington’s own expense with his orchestra, which at the time included Cootie Williams, Cat Anderson, Herbie Jones, Mercer Ellington, Buster Cooper, Lawrence Brown, Chuck Connors. Jimmy Hamilton, Russell Procope, Johnny Hodges, Paul Gonsalves, Harry Carney, John Lamb, Sam Woodyard, Bobby Durham, Chris Colombo and Emmanuel Abdul-Rahim.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published