Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Tyrone Brown: Suite for John A. Williams

Tyrone Brown

John A. Williams’ books have often incorporated the fabric of jazz to make cogent and compelling points about critical issues. Tyrone Brown has assembled an unusual configuration to pay tribute to the author. The keyboard is excluded from the usual rhythm-section lineup, while alto saxophonist Bobby Zankel is aided by a configuration of viola, violin, cello and guitar. Since he was at one time an ace jazz critic, it’s not surprising that John A. Williams would also prove a fine oral performer.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published