Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

The Year ’04 in Review: Readers Poll

Maria Schneider
Wynton Marsalis
Wynton Marsalis
Jamie Cullum
Manhattan Transfer
Branford Marsalis
Poncho Sanchez
Dave Holland
Maria Schneider
Don Byron

(First place winners in bold, honorable mentions are unbolded and listed in order of number of votes)

Best of All

Artist of the Year

Wynton Marsalis

Wayne Shorter

Dave Holland

Dave Douglas

New Release

Diana Krall

The Girl in the Other Room (Verve)

Dave Douglas

Strange Liberation (Bluebird)

Maria Schneider

Concert in the Garden (ArtistShare)

Wynton Marsalis

The Magic Hour (Blue Note)


Miles Davis

Seven Steps: The Complete Columbia Recordings of Miles Davis 1963-1964 (Columbia/Legacy)

Bob Brookmeyer

Mosaic Select (Mosaic)

Roy Eldridge

The Complete Verve Roy Eldridge Sessions (Mosaic)

James Brown

Soul on Top (Verve)

New Artist

Jamie Cullum

Peter Cincotti

Nellie McKay

Marcus Strickland

JazzTimes Hall of Fame (4 winners)

Dave Brubeck

Johnny Hodges

Illinois Jacquet

Mel Torme

Best Groups

Acoustic Group

Dave Holland Quintet

Keith Jarrett Trio

Wayne Shorter Quartet

Phil Woods

Contemporary/Electric Group

Pat Metheny Group

John Scofield

Roy Hargrove’s RH Factor

Chick Corea Elektric Band

Big Band

Dave Holland Big Band

Clayton Hamilton Jazz Orchestra

Maria Schneider Jazz Orchestra

Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra

Vocal Group

Manhattan Transfer

Four Freshmen

Jon Hendricks & Co.

New York Voices

Blues Group

B.B. King

Dr. John

Etta James & The Roots Band

Duke Robillard

Best of the Jazz Industry

Record Label

Blue Note




Syndicated Radio

Piano Jazz with Marian McPartland

Jazz Profiles with Nancy Wilson

JazzSet with Dee Dee Bridgewater

Jazz After Hours with Jim Wilke


JVC Jazz Festival – Newport

Montreal Jazz Festival

JVC Jazz Festival – New York

Monterey Jazz Festival


Village Vanguard (NYC)

Yoshi’s (Oakland, Calif.)

Birdland (NYC)

Blue Note (NYC)

Best Artists


Clark Terry

Roy Hargrove

Dave Douglas

Tom Harrell


Steve Turre

Robin Eubanks

Wycliffe Gordon

Bob Brookmeyer


Don Byron

Ken Peplowski

Eddie Daniels

Buddy DeFranco

Tenor Saxophone

Sonny Rollins

Joe Lovano

Michael Brecker

Wayne Shorter

Alto Saxophone

Phil Woods

Kenny Garrett

Greg Osby

Gary Bartz

Soprano Saxophone

Branford Marsalis

Wayne Shorter

Dave Liebman

Jane Bunnett

Baritone Saxophone

James Carter

Gary Smulyan

John Surman

Ronnie Cuber


James Moody

Dave Valentin

Frank Wess

Jane Bunnett


Regina Carter

Johnny Frigo

Jean Luc Ponty

Billy Bang


McCoy Tyner

Keith Jarrett

Herbie Hancock

Kenny Barron

Electric Keyboards

Joe Zawinul

Chick Corea

Herbie Hancock

Uri Caine


Joey DeFrancesco

Jimmy Smith

Dr. Lonnie Smith

Larry Goldings


Kenny Burrell

Russell Malone

Pat Metheny

John Scofield

Acoustic Bass

Dave Holland

Ron Carter

Christian McBride

Charlie Haden

Electric Bass

Steve Swallow

Marcus Miller

Victor Wooten

Stanley Clarke


Stefon Harris

Gary Burton

Bobby Hutcherson

Joe Locke


Roy Haynes

Brian Blade

Jack DeJohnette

Elvin Jones


Poncho Sanchez

Giovanni Hidalgo

Airto Moreira

Bill Summers

Male Vocalist

Kurt Elling

Tony Bennett

Andy Bey

Kevin Mahogany

Female Vocalist

Cassandra Wilson

Diana Krall

Dianne Reeves

Shirley Horn

Miscellaneous Instruments

(3 winners)

Toots Thielemans (harmonica)

Steve Turre (conch shells)

Bela Fleck (banjo)


Maria Schneider

Bill Holman

Dave Holland

Jon Faddis

Originally Published