Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

The Smoothest of the Smooth

Dave Koz was the big winner at the National Smooth Jazz Awards on March 5, snagging four awards including top honors as Smooth Jazz Artist of the Year. He also won for male artist, CD (The Dance), and best sax player of the year. Rick Braun was the night’s second-biggest winner, taking home three awards including best brass player – plus two for his collaboration with Boney James. Guitarist Peter White, keyboardist David Benoit, percussionist Harvey Mason, and vocalist Al Jarreau won for their respective instruments. Russ Freeman was named best producer

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published