Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

The Puppini Sisters: The Rise & Fall of Ruby Woo

The Puppini Sisters

Last year, with their debut release Betcha Bottom Dollar, Britain’s Puppini Sisters (non-siblings Marcella Puppini, Stephanie O’Brien and Kate Mullins) somehow managed to dupe a significant portion of the listening public with their campy treatments of retro tunes and frenzied covers of contemporary hits. Now the cleavage-popping trio, a sort of tongue-in-cheek Andrews Sisters for tone-deaf Gen Y-ers, is at it again, shanghaiing everyone from Patti Page and Barry Manilow to Beyoncé and the Bangles on their sophomore disc The Rise & Fall of Ruby Woo (for what it’s worth, “Ruby Woo” isn’t a person, real or mythical, but a bright red shade of lipstick favored by the threesome).

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published