Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Steely Dan Releases McPartland Recording

Despite their low profile since their last release in 2003, Steely Dan has an album coming out in March. While not exactly “new,” the album is a recording from the group’s February 2003 visit to Marian McPartland’s “Piano Jazz” show on National Public Radio. The 16-track set will be released on March 15 on Concord and also features group leaders Walter Becker and Donald Fagen discussing their jazz influences and pre-Steely Dan experiences.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published