Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Smoothest to be Decided in June

We’re usually announcing the winners of the National Smooth Jazz Awards this time of year, but the 2003 awards ceremony won’t be held until June 18. Apparently, the delay is due to the production company, Shocorp International, having a hard time finding a venue with enough nooks and crannies to diffuse the light that will be reflected off Al Jarreau’s perennial smile during the course of the ceremony. They eventually settled on the Wiltern, a cozy, old-style theater in L.A. and Jarreau (pictured) will be just one of many stars attending that night, the list also includes Dave Koz, Gerald Albright, David Benoit and Norman Brown.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published