Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

SFJAZZ Collective: Live at Jazz a Vienne

SFJAZZ Collective's Robin Eubanks, Dave Douglas, Miguel Zenon & Renee Rosnes

This July 2007 public TV broadcast DVD offers loads of strong, often joyous music along with fairly unimaginative visuals from Vienne, France, capturing the SFJAZZ Collective in a lineup slightly different from its recent two-CD concert tour recording. In place of tenor saxophonist Joshua Redman and vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson are Joe Lovano and Stefon Harris, respectively.

The 96-minute document, like the aforementioned CD release, is a mixture of the compositions of Thelonious Monk, as well as original works by group members. Rounding out the group are regulars Dave Douglas, trumpet; Andre Hayward, trombone; Miguel Zenón, alto sax; Renee Rosnes, piano; Matt Penman, bass; and Eric Harland, drums. In addition to Monk’s “Brilliant Corners,” “Epistrophy,” “Crepuscule with Nellie,” “San Francisco Holiday” and “Criss Cross” are “Lion’s Gate” by Rosnes, “Haast Pass” by Penman, “San Francisco Suite” by Douglas and “Union” by Harland.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published