Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Septer Bourbon: The Smile of the Honeycakehorse

The word is that Septer Bourbon has something of a cult following in Europe. The good news is that they are not likely to be a very dangerous cult, because this is very good-natured music. The quartet consists of Markus Burger on piano, Jan von Klewitz on saxophones, Uwe Ecker on drums, and Martin Gjakonowski on bass. Their apparent source of inspiration is Keith Jarrett’s European quartet of the ’70s; they work that vein personably, seeking only, it seems, to delight their listeners-and succeeding quite often.

Originally Published