Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

New Stefon Harris CD Due in April

On April 20 vibraphonist Stefon Harris (pictured) will release Evolution (Blue Note), the debut record from Blackout, his electro-acoustic quintet. Evolution is Harris’ fifth album as a leader and follows last year’s ambitious The Grand Unification Theory.

Lending Harris support through Evolution‘s 11 tracks-a mix of band-member penned originals and covers-are saxophonist Casey Benjamin, keyboardist Marc Cary, bassist Darryl Hall and drummer Terreon Gully, who are the core Blackout band, plus flutist Anne Drummond, keyboardist Xavier Davis and percussionist Pedro Martinez. Expect a modern sound from this young band. Reviews of Blackout shows have likened the group to a contemporary fusion quintet and have made note of it using plenty of electronic sounds. Below is a track list, for Stefon Harris Tour dates, visit his page at Blue Note Records’ Web site.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published