Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

New School to Host Annual Beacon Awards Gala

Roy Haynes, Barry Harris, Jon Hendricks and 60 Minutes correspondent Ed Bradley will be honored by the New School for Jazz and Contemporary Music this Friday in a ceremony that will feature performers including Bill Cosby and Al Jarreau.

The annual Beacon Awards Gala honors living musicians and contributors to jazz and raises funds for New School Jazz. In addition to Cosby and Jarreau, gala performers include Earl May, Charles Pherson, Randy Weston, Reggie Workman, Joe Chambers, Charles McPherson, Chico Hamilton and George Wein. Hamilton, Chambers, Workman and Wein have close connections to the school: Hamilton and Chambers are faculty members, and Festival Productions founder Wein is a New School Jazz board member and a 1999 Beacon honoree.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published