Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

New Elvin Jones Live CD Due Next Week

As teased a month ago in this space, Half Note Records will release a live recording by the late drummer Elvin Jones on October 12.

The Truth: Heard Live at the Blue Note features the late legend in performance with his Jazz Machine band on September 11 and 12, 1999 at the famed New York club where Jones played annually for more than 20 years. On those nights the Jazz Machine consisted of saxophonist Antoine Roney, trombonist Robin Eubanks, trumpeter Darren Barrett pianist Carlos McKinney and bassist Gene Perla. Saxophonist Michael Brecker also appears on each of The Truth‘s seven tracks as a special guest.

Jeff Levenson, executive vice president of Half Note Records, contributed the liner notes. “Elvin had an uncanny way of putting together bands that lived up to his name,” says Levenson. “The guys here grooved like a well-oiled machine, inspired, no doubt, by the presence of Brecker, who always had Elvin’s influence inside him.”

The Truth track list:

1. E.J. Blues (Elvin Jones)

2. Straight No Chaser (Thelonious Monk)

3. Body and Soul (Johnny Green, Edward Heyman, Robert Sour)

4. Truth (Keiko Jones)

5. A Lullaby of Itsugo Village (traditional, arranged by Keiko Jones)

6. Wise One (John Coltrane)

7. Three Card Molly (Elvin Jones)

For more information on the release and Half Note Records, visit

Originally Published