Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

New Album From Ravi Coltrane

February 22 marks the release of In Flux, saxophonist Ravi Coltrane’s fourth recording as a leader and first for the Savoy Jazz label. In Flux features Coltrane’s working quartet of pianist Luis Perdomo, drummer EJ Strickland and bassist Drew Gress.

The band recorded the album during studio sessions interspersed between tour dates. “That pace removed the feeling of having to do everything so quickly and let us be more relaxed,” says Coltrane in a press release. “The result is by far the strongest work I’ve done to date.”

In Flux follows Mad 6, released by the Eighty Eights label in 2002 and by Sony in 2003, as well as Coltrane’s two RCA recordings: 2000’s From the Round Box and the tenor and soprano saxophonist’s 1998 debut, Moving Pictures.

For more information, visit Savoy Jazz.

In Flux Track List:

1. The Message

2. Coincide

3. Variations III

4. Away

5. Blending Times

6. Leaving Avignon

7. Dear Alice

8. Angular Realms

9. Scram Vamp

10. Variations I

11. United

12. For Zoe

Originally Published