Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

NEA Honors 2007 Jazz Masters

The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) will be honoring its 2007 Jazz Masters in New York on January 12th. The Gala marks the 25th anniversary of the NEA Jazz Master Award, considered jazz’s highest honor.

Six musicians will be honored at the ceremony for their distinctive, lifelong contributions to jazz: trombonist Curtis Fuller, pianist Ramsey Lewis, vocalist Jimmy Scott (pictured), altoist-flutist Frank Wess, pianist-bandleader Toshiko Akiyoshi and altoist-composer-arranger Phil Woods. The prestigious A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy will be given to scholar Dan Morgenstern, author of Living With Jazz, for his work as an historian, archivist, author, editor and educator.

Since 1982, the NEA has designated 87 renowned musicians as NEA Jazz Masters based on public nominations. The nominees are then honored at an awards ceremony and concert and provided with a one-time fellowship of $25,000. The Class of 2007 will officially accept their awards in New York City on January 12, 2007.

Originally Published