Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

NEA Announces Seven New Jazz Masters

On Friday during the Duke Ellington Jazz Festival at Washington D.C.’s Lincoln Theater, National Endowment for the Arts Chairman Dana Gioia announced the names of the NEA’s Class of 2007 Jazz Masters.

Among the magnificent seven are Toshiko Akiyoshi (bandleader, piano), Curtis Fuller (trombone), Ramsey Lewis (piano), Jimmy Scott (vocals, pictured), Frank Wess (flute, alto sax), Phil Woods (composer-arranger, alto sax) and Dan Morgenstern (scholar). This venerated septet were honored for their distinctive, lifelong contributions to jazz, as both performers and teachers; Morgenstern will also receive the A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy for his work as an historian, archivist, author, editor and educator.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published