Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

NEA Announces Jazz Masters for 2010

Yusef Lateef

The National Endowment for the Arts has announced its Jazz Masters for 2010. They are pianist Muhal Richard Abrams, pianist Kenny Barron, composer-arranger-saxophonist Bill Holman, vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson, saxophonist Yusef Lateef, vocalist Annie Ross and pianist Cedar Walton. The 2010 A.B. Spellman Award for Jazz Advocacy will go to producer George Avakian.

The Jazz Masters Award includes a $25,000 grant, to be issued at an awards ceremony held Jan. 12, 2010 at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City. The award is the “nation’s highest honor in jazz.” For more information visit the NEA’s official Web site.

Originally Published