Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

NEA Announces 2002 Jazz Masters Fellowships

On Dec. 11, the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) announced Frank Foster, Percy Heath and McCoy Tyner (pictured left) as the 2002 American Jazz Masters Fellowship recipients.

Each artist will receive a one-time fellowship of $20,000. All three Jazz Masters awards will be presented at an NEA-supported concert on Jan. 11 in Long Beach, Calif. during the 29th annual International Association of Jazz Educators conference.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published