Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

National Endowment for the Arts to Honor 2009 NEA Jazz Masters

The National Endowment for the Arts will sponsor its annual NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony and Concert on October 17 at Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City. The event will begin at 8 p.m. in Rose Theater at Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center at Broadway at 60th Street and feature the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis in a program dedicated to the honorees’ works. The concert also will include brief video biographies on each 2009 NEA Jazz Master.

In addition, a pre-concert conversation with the 2009 NEA Jazz Masters moderated by NEA Chairman Dana Gioia will be held at 6:15 p.m. in Rose Theater. The conversation will explore the careers, influences and ideas from the Masters’ experiences in jazz.

The 2009 NEA Jazz Masters include vocalist and guitarist George Benson (pictured), drummer James Wilbur “Jimmy” Cobb, saxophonist Lee Konitz, harmonica and guitar player Jean-Baptiste “Toots” Thielemans and trumpeter Eugene Edward “Snooky” Young. The A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Master Award for Jazz Advocacy is awarded to recording engineer Rudolph “Rudy” Van Gelder.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published