Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Natalie Cole to Release New Standards Album, ‘Still Unforgettable’

Grammy award-winning pop-jazz vocalist Natalie Cole will be releasing a brand new collection of jazz standards, Still Unforgettable, September 9.

It’s been 17 years since Cole released the multi-platinum Unforgettable: With Love, a classic collection of American jazz standards in Cole’s rich, sparkling tone.

Still Unforgettable promises timeless and soothing tracks like those that shined on its predecessor. Tracks include “The Best Is Yet to Come,” “Nice ‘N’ Easy,” “Something’s Gotta Give” and “Until the Real Thing Comes Along.”

Similar to the title track on 1991’s Unforgettable, one of the 14 tracks is a duet between Natalie and her late father Nat “King” Cole, “Walkin’ My Baby Back Home.”

Still Unforgettable, which bears Cole’s first producer credit, will be released by DMI Records and distributed by Rhino/WEA.

Cole’s most recent release, 2006’s Leavin’, was another collection of covers, but the songs were rooted in pop and modern music, with tracks like Fiona Apple’s “Criminal,” Des’ree’s “You Gotta Be” and the Dixie Chicks “Lovin’ Arms.”

Cole established herself as a musician at age 25 in 1975 with the hit song “This Will Be.” The single garnered Cole two Grammys, one for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance and another for Best New Artist.

Though she released numerous albums in the ’70s and ’80s, Cole suffered years of drug addictions and rehabilitations, which she discussed in her autobiography, Angel on my Shoulder.

In 1991, Cole released her remakes of her father’s biggest hits on Unforgettable: With Love. Songs like “Route 66,” “Orange Colored Sky,” “L-O-V-E,” and “The Very Thought of You” pushed the record to number one on the Billboard charts for five weeks, and sold more than 14 million copies.

The blend of classic songs and Cole’s velvety, bright tones earned the album a 1992 Grammy for Album of the Year. The title track earned Record of the Year and Best Traditional Jazz Performance.

Cole’s career furthered into the realm of musical-theatre-style jazz, with singles like “As Time Goes By” and the Grammy-winning “When I Fall in Love,” on the 1993 platinum-selling Stardust.

Still Unforgettable Track listing:

1. “Walkin’ My Baby Back Home”

2. “Come Rain Or Come Shine”

3. “Coffee Time”

4. “Somewhere Along The Way”

5. “You Go To My Head”

6. “Nice ‘N’ Easy”

7. “Why Don’t You Do Right?”

8. “Here’s That Rainy Day”

9. “But Beautiful”

10. “Lollipops And Roses”

11. “The Best Is Yet To Come”

12. “Something’s Gotta Give”

13. “Until The Real Thing Comes Along”

14. “It’s All Right With Me”

Originally Published