Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Mose Allison Enters the Mississippi Music Hall of Fame

The Mississippi Musicians Hall of Fame inducted a new crop of members that would easily beat any other state. Included in its 17 new members are blues men Muddy Waters and John Lee Hooker, rock ‘n’ roll pianist Jerry Lee Lewis and gospel singer Conway Twitty. Pianist, singer, and songwriter Mose Allison (pictured left) was the only jazz musician to be inducted at the March 31 ceremony. Marty Stuart, Pop Staples and the Staples Singers, Charley Pride, Dorothy Moore and the Blackwood Brothers Quartet were also inducted. Inductees were chosen from 13 categories, including blues, jazz, rock ‘n’ roll, bluegrass, R&B, country, and the classics.

Originally Published