Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Medeski, Martin and Wood Records Children’s Music Album

John Medeski (pictured) held keys duties on Verve’s recent Baby Loves Jazz project, so it only makes sense that Medeski, Martin and Wood’s forthcoming disc is being billed as “family music.” MMW’s Let’s Go Everywhere will be released by Little Monster Records on Jan. 8.

According to a recent press release, “The band wanted to do a children’s record for some time. [Bassist] Chris Wood’s daughter shares play dates with the daughter of Kate Hyman and Kevin Salem, co-founders of Little Monster Records. The parents talked over some ideas and settled on the concept of travel and adventure. The band went into the studio together, and four days later had composed, arranged and laid down the basic tracks for this high-flying collection of rousing tunes.”

On this outing, the jam-jazz stalwarts reinvent familiar children’s songs (“Pat a Cake,” “Hickory Dickory Dock”) alongside their own brand new kid-friendly fare (“The Train Song,” “Let’s Go,” “Pirates Don’t Take Baths”). Guest vocalist Tim Ingham sings the title tune, which is based on the melody to Johnny Cash’s classic “I’ve Been Everywhere.” And actor John Lurie, who film buffs will remember starred opposite Tom Waits in Jim Jarmusch’s classic Down By Law, donates vocals on “the offbeat story/song ‘The Squalb.'” Other vocal appearances include those by the band members’ children and their friends.

A full track list is below. For more information, visit

MMW’s Let’s Go Everywhere:

1. Waking Up

2. Let’s Go Everywhere

3. Cat Creeps

4. The Train Song

5. Where’s the Music

6. Pat a Cake

7. Pirates Don’t Take Baths

8. Far East Sweets

9. On an Airplane

10. The Squalb

11. Let’s Go

12. Old Paint

13. Hickory Dickory Dock

14. All Around the Kitchen

15. We’re All Connected

Originally Published