Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

JJA Jazz Award Winners

The Jazz Journalists Association (JJA) handed out its 2003 Jazz Awards Wednesday night at B.B. King’s Blues Club in New York City. It was the place to be that night-after all, Joe Piscopo was there. Other famous folk in attendance were Munsters star Al “Grandpa” Lewis and comedian Soupy Sales. To the surprise of many, Stanley Crouch showed up and played a drum solo. But there were performances by real musicians too: Judi Silvano and James Williams saluted pianist Mal Waldron (who died last December) and the audience was also treated to the music of the New Jazz Composers Octet, the David Hazeltine Quartet and the Wallace Roney Quintet, which played with guest saxophonist Gary Bartz.

As far as the actual awards go, a long list follows, but we’ll note here that Cecil Taylor (pictured) was given the Lifetime Achievement award and that Wayne Shorter scored four times with Artist of the Year and Album of the Year for Footprints-Live!, Combo of the Year and Tenor Saxophonist of the Year. The awards are based on votes cast by the association’s 400 membership. More info on the awards is available at


1. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz (joining previous honorees Benny Carter, Ornette Coleman, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins and Clark Terry) Winner: Cecil Taylor

2. Musician of the Year (achievement in sound recordings, live concert performances and overall presence, April 15, 2002 – April 15, 2003) Winner: Wayne Shorter

3. Up ‘n’ Coming Musician of the Year Winner: Jason Moran

4. Album of the Year (Released April 15, 2001 – April 15, 2002) Winner: Footprints Live!, Wayne Shorter (Verve)

5. Reissue of the Year Winner: A Love Supreme – Impulse!; John Coltrane

6. Historical Box Set of the Year Winner: Charlie Christian, Genius of the Electric Guitar – Columbia Legacy

7. Record Label of the Year Winner: Blue Note Records

8. Events Producer of the Year Winner: George Wein, Festival Productions, Inc. and Patricia Nicholson Parker, The Vision Festival, Arts for Art [a tie, both receive Awards]

9. Composer of the Year Winner: Andrew Hill

10. Arranger of the Year Winner: Maria Schneider

11. Male Vocalist of the Year Winner: Andy Bey

12. Female Vocalist of the Year Winner: Cassandra Wilson

13. Latin-Jazz Album of the Year Winner: Cuban Odyssey, Jane Bunnett and Spirits of Havana (Blue Note Records)

14. Combo of the Year Winner: Wayne Shorter Quartet

15. Big Band of the Year Winner: Dave Holland Big Band

16. Trumpeter of the Year Winner: Dave Douglas

17. Trombonist of the Year Winner: Roswell Rudd

18. Rare Brass of the Year Winner: Steve Bernstein – slide trumpet

19. Alto Saxophonist of the Year Winner: Greg Osby

20. Tenor Saxophonist of the Year Winner: Wayne Shorter

21. Soprano Saxophonist of the Year Winner: Jane Ira Bloom

22. Baritone Saxophonist of the Year Winner: Hamiet Bluiett

23. Clarinetist of the Year Winner: Marty Ehrlich

24. Pianist of the Year Winner: Kenny Barron

25. Organ Player of the Year Winner: Dr. Lonnie Smith

26. Guitarist of the Year Winner: Russell Malone

27. Bassist of the Year Winner: Dave Holland

28. Electric Bassist of the Year Winner: Steve Swallow

29. Strings Player of the Year Winner: Regina Carter

30. Mallets Player of the Year Winner: Stefon Harris

31. Percussionist of the Year Winner: Kahil El’Zabar

32. Drummer of the Year Winner: Matt Wilson


1. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism Winner: Gary Giddins

2. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Broadcasting/the Willis Conover-Marian McPartland Award Winner: Alyn Shipton

3. Photographer of the Year/the Lona Foote-Bob Parent Award Winner: Ken Franckling

4. Jazz Writer of the Year the Helen Oakley Dance – Robert Palmer Award Winner: Gary Giddins

5. Best Periodical Covering Jazz Winner: JazzTimes

6. Best Website Covering Jazz Winner:

7. Best Book on Jazz of the Year Winner: A Love Supreme: The Story of John Coltrane’s Signature Album, Ashley Kahn, Penguin Putnam

8. Best Photo of the Year Winner: “Sir Roland Hanna, Sept. 22, 2002” John Abbott


Barry Harris, pianist, educator and Director of the New York City Jazz Theatre Workshop, Jazz Cultural Theatre

Dorthaan Kirk, Community Relations and Coordinator of Special Events, WBGO-FM, Newark, NJ

Dr. Robert Litwak, cardiologist, Mt. Sinai Hospital, NYC

Englewood Hospital and Medical Center: Daniel Kane, President and CEO, Andrew F. Durkin, Chairman, Margaret C. Bridges, Executive VP of the Foundation

Representative John Conyers (D-Michigan), for recognition of his work to support jazz in the U.S. Congress.

Dr. Lewis Marshall, “jazz doctor,” Washington, D.C.

Davey Yarborough, Duke Ellington School of the Arts

Jim deJong, About the Music consultant/facilitator, Jazz Institute of Chicago board member

Dr. David Hinkamp, Health in the Arts Program, Occupational Health Service Institute, University of Illinois at Chicago

Dr. David Morwood, volunteer chief surgeon for ‘Rotaplast’ (Rotary International-sponsored medical missions to South America to operate on children with cleft lips and palates, Monterey, CA

Bruce Forman, guitarist and founder of Jazz Masters Workshops and The Music Performance Developmental Workshops, Seaside, CA

Arnie Lawrence, International Center for Creative Music

Anna Immanuel, International Artistic Director of “God Bless The Child”

Originally Published