Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

JJA Jazz Award Winners Announced

On June 19 the 6th Annual Jazz Journalists Association’s Jazz Awards were held at the Jazz Standard in NYC. Avery Brooks and Soupy Sales shared emcee duties, and Marian McPartland, Cassandra Wilson, Bill Charlap, Chano Domingues and Roy Haynes made special appearances. Taking home the three “big ones” this year were Clark Terry for the Lifetime Achievement in Jazz award, Dave Holland (pictured) for Musician of the Year, Ira Gitler for the Jazz Journalism Lifetime Achievement award. And JazzTimes won for Best Periodical Covering Jazz.

Complete list of winners:

Lifetime Achievement in Jazz (joining previous honorees Benny Carter, Ornette Coleman, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins and John Lewis) Clark Terry

Musician of the Year (achievement in sound recordings, live concert

performances and overall presence, April 15, 2001 – April 15, 2002) Dave Holland

Album of the Year (Released April 15, 2001 – April 15, 2002) Charlie Haden, Nocturne (Verve)

Reissue of the Year Billie Holiday, Lady Day: The Complete Billie Holiday on Columbia, 1933-1944 (Columbia/Legacy)

Events Producer of the Year André Ménard, Festival International de Jazz De Montréal

Composer of the Year Henry Threadgill

Male Singer of the Year Kurt Elling

Female Singer of the Year Cassandra Wilson

Recording Debut of the Year (Artist’s First Effort As a Leader) Norah Jones, Come Away With Me (Blue Note)

Afro-Caribbean Jazz Album of the Year Omar Sosa, Sentir (Ota)

Brazilian Jazz Album of the Year Trio Da Paz, Partido Out (Malandro)

Small Ensemble of the Year (nonet or smaller) Wayne Shorter Quartet

Large Ensemble of the Year (tentet or bigger, including big bands, jazz orchestras, contemporary symphonies, et. al.) Mingus Big Band

Trumpeter of the Year Dave Douglas

Trombonist of the Year Wycliffe Gordon

Brass of the Year (tuba, French horn, etc.) Howard Johnson, tuba

Alto Saxophonist of the Year Greg Osby

Tenor Saxophonist of the Year Chris Potter

Soprano Saxophonist of the Year Wayne Shorter

Baritone Saxophonist of the Year James Carter

Clarinetist of the Year Don Byron

Pianist of the Year Bill Charlap

Organ-Keyboards of the Year John Medeski

Guitarist of the Year Russell Malone

Acoustic Bassist of the Year Dave Holland

Electric Bassist of the Year Steve Swallow

Strings Player of the Year Regina Carter

Mallets Player of the Year Stefon Harris

Percussionist of the Year Kahil El’Zabar

Drummer of the Year Roy Haynes

Jazz Journalism Categories

Jazz Journalism Lifetime Achievement Award Ira Gitler (Encyclopedia of Jazz, Swing to Bop, etc.)

Excellence in Jazz Broadcasting/the Willis Conover-Marian McPartland Award Kenny Washington, WBG0-FM (Newark, NJ)

Excellence in Photography/the Lona Foote-Bob Parent Award Enid Farber

Excellence in Newspaper, Magazine or Online Feature or Review Writing/the Helen Dance-Robert Palmer Award Gary Giddins

Best Film/Video Regarding Jazz of the Year Calle 54

Best Periodical Covering Jazz JazzTimes

Best Jazz Website of the Year

Best Book on Jazz of the Year A New History Of Jazz, Alyn Shipton, Continuum Books

Best Photo of the Year Enid Farber

Discretionary Awards Winners:

Dr. John Minichetti, specialist in dentistry

Dr. David Feldman, specialist in joint replacements

George Avakian, veteran jazz album producer

Originally Published