Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

JJA Award Nominees Announced

Nominees for the ninth annual Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards, which benefit the Jazz Foundation of America’s Musicians Emergency Fund and the Jazz Journalists Association’s educational initiatives, have been announced. The awards ceremony will be on June 14 at B.B. King’s Blues Club and Grill in New York City. The JJA will also host a separate West Coast Jazz Awards Party at the Jazz Bakery in Los Angeles on May 29, which will honor Kenny Burrell, Gerald Wilson, Wadada Leo Smith, Charlie Haden and Craig Springer for their contributions to jazz education.

While the jazz awards honor jazz musicians and their supporters, the JJA will honor jazz activists for their humanitarian contributions to the art form; these nominees will be announced at a later date.

Tickets to the JJA Jazz Awards at B.B. King’s Blues Club and Grill are $50 to JJA members and nominees (after their two complimentary tickets) and $150 to the public. Tickets for the JJA Jazz Awards West Coast are $25 to JJA members, $75 to the public. More information and reservations can be found at

The nominees are:
Lifetime Achievement in Jazz

Roy Haynes

Hank Jones

Lee Konitz

Sam Rivers

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published