Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

JJA Announces Award Nominees

The Jazz Journalists Association has nominated over 200 musicians, writers, photographers, broadcasters, and new media professionals for its fifth annual awards. The winners will be announced June 14 in a ceremony at Birdland in New York. Dave Brubeck, Lionel Hampton, John Lewis, Cecil Taylor and Clark Terry are nominees for the Lifetime Achievement award, while Dave Douglas, Dave Holland, Joe Lovano (pictured left), and Chucho Valdes are up for Musician of the Year.

Eminent actor Keith David, voice of Ken Burns’ Jazz, will be master of ceremonies at the event, and Dr. Billy Taylor will be the keynote speaker. Members of the Jazz Journalists Association and special guests will present the awards.

A complete list of nominees is available at, the JJA’s Web site. For ticket information, contact Arnold Jay Smith at 718-625-2026.

Originally Published