Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Jazz Journalists Association Announces Jazz Award Winners

When jazz enthusiasts attending the Jazz à Vienne festival in France watch Sonny Rollins perform June 29, they won’t just be watching a legendary saxophonist-instead, they’ll be watching the “Musician of the Year,” according to the Jazz Journalists Association.

On Monday, the JJA held its 10th annual Jazz Awards in New York City-fittingly at B.B. King’s Blues Club and Grill-and distributed 41 accolades, 33 to musicians and 8 in categories relating to jazz journalism. The sold-out event also included performances by the Dewey Redman Ensemble, the Sy Johnson Quartet and pianist Ezra Weiss.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published