Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Jane Monheit Releases New Album

Acclaimed jazz vocalist Jane Monheit returns with her seventh studio album, Surrender, on April 24, 2007. The album marks Monheit’s debut with Concord Records.

Monheit recorded with her regular core of musicians: Ari Ambrose (saxophone), Michael Kanan (piano and Fender Rhodes), Orlando Le Fleming (bass), Rick Montalbano (drums) and Miles Okazaki (guitar). Internationally renowned Brazilian musician Sergio Mendes joins Monheit on “So Many Stars,” which he produced and arranged.

After graduating from the Manhattan School of Music in 1999, Monheit released her debut album before turning 23. Never Never Land was an instant success, prompting critics to draw comparisons between Monheit and one of her idols, Ella Fitzgerald.

In 2004, her fifth album, Taking a Chance on Love, climbed to the number one spot on the Billboard traditional jazz chart.

Here is the Surrender track listing:

1. If You Went Away

2. Surrender

3. Rio De Maio (with Ivan Lins)

4. Like A Lover

5. Só Tinha De Ser Com Você

6. So Many Stars (with Sergio Mendes)

7. Moon River

8. Overjoyed

9. Caminhos Cruzados (with Toots Thielemans)

10. A Time For Love

Originally Published