Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Jamie Cullum

Hey, it’s the latest Next Big Thing / Official Jazz Savior of the Week!

British sensation Jamie Cullum (pictured) hits our shores for his U.S. debut, bringing his unique style of vocal-and-piano jazz to the Oak Room in New York City’s Algonquin Hotel for a three-week residency from Tuesday, September 30 through Saturday, October 18. Cullum is set to preview material from his forthcoming Verve Records debut, Twentysomething.

Who’s Jamie Cullum, you say, and why is his brand of jazz unique?

After honing his craft in the bars and clubs of Paris for a year, the handsome, self-taught British vocalist, pianist and songwriter has been causing quite a stir in his native England. And rightfully so, there’s a lot riding on him. Universal recently inked Cullum to a £1 million deal, following an intense bidding war that included Sony Records pleading for his services.

The fickle U.K. press has already begun to drool. British Vogue recently quipped Cullum is “single-handedly shedding jazz of its crusty image.”

Kind of like what Norah Jones already did, what, three days ago? Damn!

The hotly tipped Cullum will release Twentysomething, the follow-up to his debut, Pointless Nostalgia, in March of next year. His eclectic performance repertoire includes old standards as well as covers of tunes by alt-rockers Radiohead and Nirvana.

See if he can live up to the hype

Set time is 9:00 p.m., with an additional 11:30 p.m. show Fridays and Saturdays. The cover charge is a measly $50 per person. Cheap! The Oak Room is located in the Algonquin Hotel at 59 W. 44th St. For additional venue information call them up at (212) 419-9331.

And here is the tracklisting for Twentysomething, which comes out in October in the U.K. and March 2004 in the U.S.:

1. What a Difference a Day Made

2. These Are the Days

3. Singin’ in the Rain

4. Twentysomething

5. But For Now

6. Old Devil Moon

7. I Could Have Danced All Night

8. Blame It on My Youth

9. I Get a Kick Out of You

10. All at Sea

11. Wind Cries Mary

12. Lover, You Should Have Come Over

13. It’s About Time

14. Next Year, Baby

For more info on Cullum, check out

Originally Published